While on vacation in OCMD, we expected to eat lots and lots of seafood…and we did.  If you don’t believe me, please see the photos of crab carnage in previous posts.   But after one long day of horrible, horrible golf, we needed food fast.  Lucky for us, just a few miles from the golf course, on I-50 in West Ocean City, we spied a Boog’s BBQ takeout restaurant!

Boog Powell was a big, slugging first baseman who played for the Orioles in the 60’s and 70’s.  He also had short stints with the Indians and Dodgers at the end of his career, but he’s an Oriole.  Now he’s best known for tending to Boog’s BBQ, the pit at Camden Yards, which I guess the Phillies copied when they came up with Bull’s BBQ, hosted by Greg Luzinski, in Citizens Bank Park (also known as the greatest ballpark around).

When I go to Phillies games and get Bull’s BBQ, I usually get the pulled pork sandwich, because its awesome, but also because its easy to eat in the stands.  At Boog’s, I got their Hit and Run BBQ dinner, with baby backs and brisket, along with sides of baked beans and cole slaw.  So I can’t really even compare Bull’s to Boog’s.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Everything from Boog’s was really good though.  I can’t really expound on that, because I didn’t really savor anything or try to distinguish flavors.  Notice the short slideshow…The meats were tender and delicious and I was intent on eating them as fast as humanly possible. Not much time for photos…

If you are in OCMD and need to eat something other than seafood, find a Boog’s BBQ and you won’t be disappointed.  But if you are from Philadelphia,  know that the Bull might be disappointed in you…

But honestly, even if the food weren’t so good, I don’t think I could bring myself to say anything bad about a place that offers pulled pork as a salad topping!

Want to know more about BBQ? And get a twangy song stuck in your head at the same time?

